## Legislative Council

(According to seniority)

Name	Division		Date of Appointment		
GEORGES-AIMÉ SIMARD  - R. DU TREMBLAY  - O. GROTTÉ  LISÉE THÉRIAULT  ACOB NICOL  VICTOR MARCHAND  GUSTAVE LEMIEUX  HECTOR LAFERTÉ  EMILE MOREAU  LUPHONSE RAYMOND  - L. BARIEBAU (Speaker)  PHILIPE BRAIS  ULES BRILLANT  PRANK L. CONNORS  ROBERT R. NESS  VULPRID BOVEY  ÉLIX MESSIER  CHARLES DELAGRAVE  DOUARD ASSELIN  BO. B. FOSTER  ÉFRALD MARTINEAU	Sorel De Salaberry Kennebec Bedford Rigaud Montarville Stadacona. Lauzon De Lorimier Shawinigan Grandville Golfe Mille Isles Inkerman Rougemont De Lanudière De la Durantaye Wellington Victoria	Jan. Dec. Apr. Sept. Apr. Dec. July June Aug. Jan. Feb. Jan. Jen. Jen. Jan. Jan. Jan. Jan. Jan. Jan. Jan. Ja	3, 23, 23, 15, 23, 6, 28, 14, 16, 14, 14, 12, 12, 22,	1925 1927 1929 1929 1932 1934 1935 1936 1940 1942 1942 1942	
-OLIER RENAUD			22.	194	
-T. LAROCHELLE		Dec.	29.	194	

## Subsection 6.—Ontario

The Government of Ontario consists of the Lieutenant-Governor, the Executive Council and the House of Assembly. The Honourable Louis O. Breithaupt, the present Lieutenant-Governor of the Province, was commissioned to office Jan. 24, 1952. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation are cited in the Year Book 1951, p. 92.

The House of Assembly, the single-chamber Legislature of the Province, is composed of 90 members elected for a statutory term of five years on an adult-suffrage basis.

Besides the regular departments of government, the Niagara Parks Commission, the Ontario Municipal Board, the Hydro-Electric Power Commission of Ontario, the Ontario Northland Transportation Commission, the Liquor Control Board and the Liquor Licence Board have been created.

Under the provisions of the Legislative Assembly Act (R.S.O. 1950, c. 202, as amended 1952, c. 51), each Member of the Assembly is paid an annual indemnity of \$2,600 and an allowance for expenses of \$1,300. In addition, the Speaker receives a special indemnity at the annual rate of \$3,000 and an expense allowance of \$2,000; the Chairman of the Committee of the Whole a special indemnity at the annual rate of \$1,000 and the Leader of the Opposition a special indemnity of \$3,000 and an annual allowance of \$2,000 for expenses. Each Member of the Cabinet receives the ordinary indemnity as a Member of the Legislature of \$2,600 plus the \$1,300 expense allowance in addition to his salary as a Minister of the Crown. The salary provided in the Executive Council Act for a Cabinet Minister is \$10,000.